I can’t stop watching The Family Stone

What’s wrong with me?  I have watched The Family Stone at least 4 times in the past 7 days.  Three times, I ordered it on OnDemand as a free movie – and once it was on TBS, a few hours after I had already ordered and watched it OnDemand. 

WTF?  Is it the cast of characters that I can’t help but relate to?  A big part of why I heart this film is Luke Wilson’s charm – I wish I could swap places with Sarah Jessica Parker in this flick, for there are times when Ben [Luke’s character] steals glances at Meredith [Sarah’s character] that my heart skips a few beats and I have to rewind the scene to watch it all over again.

Then, there’s always the terrific soundtrack.  I love watching Meredith dance happily in front of the jukbox to “Right Back Where We Started From” by Maxine Nightingale and watching the credits roll to “Count on Me” by Jefferson Starship.

Man, this is a good holiday flick; I’d even go so far as to say that it’s one of my all-time favorite Christmas movies, up there with A Christmas Story and Home Alone.  Sure the Stone family is a bit dysfunctional, but then again, what modern American family is perfect these days?  I can’t name one.

Add this flick to your Netflix queue – it’s sure to become a classic Christmas movie and one that I’m happy to watch over and over again.

Leave a Reply

