Project “Mix It Up”

“Running should be a lifelong activity. Approach it patiently and intelligently, and it will reward you for a long, long time.” — Michael Sargent, M.D.

I decided to go for a pre-work run through the park this AM and initially I thought I would log one of my longer standard runs to the ocean and back.  Though, when I approached the entrance to Stow Lake, I thought to myself, “Self, you NEVER run that route, so let’s give it a whirl this morning, shall we?”

I was so glad I decided to switch up my route semi-spontaneously, for it’s prompted an idea which has lended itself to a renewed goal that I will actively be striving for.  And that is, every time I hit the pavement, I will actively try to explore new territory, I will try to carve out a new path each and every time I go running in an attempt to explore this beautiful, majestic world that we live in. 

Life is short and who wants to continue to hit the same path over and over and over again?  Where’s the surprise in that?  Where’s the excitement?  Where’s the variety in that endeavor?  And so,  Project “Mix It Up” commences now!!

One comment

  1. I think this is an awesome plan!! Hopefully it will keep you motivated on those days when your mind is saying “heck no, the couch sounds much better.” Looking forward to hearing more about your upcoming runs! Keep up the good work sista ;)

Leave a Reply

