On A Good Day

On my way home on the train last night, after running 6mi down the Embarcadero and back, Oceanlab’s “On A Good Day” found itself on perpetcha repeat on my shuffle.  The intensely positive feelings one can feel during a run that’s commonly referred to as a “runner’s high” was most definitely pulsating through my veins… and I was loving every second of it!  As soon as I heard the following lyrics, I had a revelation:

Been talking to myself forever
And how I wish I knew me better
Still sitting on a shelf and never
Never seen the sun shine brighter
And it feels like me
On a good day

I started to think about the times when I feel strongest and most confident and when I feel like I’m embodying the “best version of me”… and it dawned on me how crucial it is that I follow my passions and pursue the life that I’ve always wanted to live.

Those who know me well, know that I absolutely adore running and working out and practicing yoga, and I often talk about how I find myself daydreaming about becoming certified to teach yoga or fitness classes… some day. And then I started to think about how I’m not getting any younger and that no one is going to push me to do the things that I aspire to do… except me.  And so… my revelation was one that is motivated by the mantra of actively living the life that I have always wanted to live.  Some may argue that I’m doing this right now, at this very moment in time, yet why do I feel like I’m not leveraging my strengths and my passions?  Why do I feel like my potential isn’t being harnessed as best as it could be?

Consequently, it has begun.  More on this later….

Leave a Reply

