Outside Lands from inside my bedroom

Oh yes, that’s right.  I can hear the crowd that’s assembled in my lovely backyard that is Golden Gate Park for Outside Lands from inside my bedroom. 

About a half hour ago, I heard Black Eyed Peas “Let’s Get It Started” and had to physically hold myself back from barfing.  [Have I mentioned that I absolutely detest them?  Yep, I do. True story: walking home from the park today, some scalper on the street turns to me and says, “tickets to Black Eyed Peas?” to which I immediately responded, “ummm… no… I hate them” and walked away.  There’s a part of me that feels bad for being so negative to a random dude who’s just trying to make a buck; however, I feel justified in my actions knowing that as part of my active duty as a connoisseur of good music, it is my responsibility to spread the word to those seemingly unaware about what NOT to endorse.]

Earlier today I caught a few songs by Bat for Lashes [aka Natasha Khan], who I absolutely adore.  Che-che-check her out:

It’s really sad, though.  The line-up for Outside Lands this year is significantly crumbier than what it was last year in its inauguration.  I realize that there are a handful of folks out there who are all like, “man, Outside Lands this year is totally legit! Pearl Jam, Dave Matthews, Black Eyed Peas! I’m stoked!”  [Speaking of Dave, he’s currently on stage at the moment, playing what sounds like “I Did It”.] 

Some have also likened Outside Lands as San Francisco’s own version of Coachella.  Now, while I’ve never been to Coachella, I don’t think it’s a fair comparison to make from everything I’ve heard / seen / been exposed to via youtube and from actual testimonials from those who have made the pilgrimage year over year.  I kept hoping that the line-up would significantly improve as the date drew nearer, but it never did, and thus, I never pulled the trigger and bought a ticket. 

Meh, there’s always next year, right?

Leave a Reply

