Setting and Achieving Personal Goals

“Have a dream, make a plan, go for it. You’ll get there, I promise.”
Zoe Koplowitz, Achilles Track Club member with multiple sclerosis

The Chicago Marathon is less than two weeks away and I am supremely psyched!!  My friends, Derek, Dave, and Lindsey will be flying out there with me next Friday, October 9th, where we’ll be matching up with my best friend from college, Chelsea, and her husband Jim, along with my best friend from work, Ms. Liz.  This will mark my 3rd Marathon and Liz + Chelsea’s inaugural marathons.  How extraordinary!!

To think that just a few short years ago, I never saw running a marathon consisting as a part of my personal curriculum vitae.  But fast forward to the present and I’m so close to accomplishing my long-term goal of running 5 total marathons before my 30th birthday.  And then what?

Well, you set yourself some more goals, honey.

Next up, I’m considering triathlons…. and maybe an IronMan will be in the cards?  Who knows?

What I do know is that in order to continue to feel fulfillment in this wonderful life we’re all blessed with, one must continually set new goals to achieve — otherwise, what’s the point?  If you’re just going through the motions of your day-to-day, without a stronger sense of purpose or achievement, then how bland, how vanilla your life must be.  I’m all about embracing the flavours of life.  Give me chocolate, give me pepper, give me cilantro, bring on the cumin and the paprika and the cayenne pepper.  I want it all!

Leave a Reply

