I’m moving….

… down the block, actually. That’s right.  I’m moving in with one of my best friends, Derek Brookmeyer, into an oh-so-charming flat in the lovely 9th + Irving neighborhood.

It’s strange. I often say that one doesn’t realize how much stuff one accumulates until one has to pack it all up and move.  And boy have I accumulated a lot of stuff in the 4+ years that I’ve lived in my current flat.

One would think that the act of purging the things that you don’t need wouldn’t be too difficult of a task to take on, but for me, it’s always been a challenge.  I guess I’ve always operated under the guise of edge cases: that this one particular thing that served its purpose so well that one particular time will continue to serve its purpose for another time and instance yet to be determined. And so I hold onto said one thing.  Often times indefinitely.

Shit.  Am I a pack rat?

Ugh.  Well that’s certainly not the kind of identity that I want to actively cultivate.

As such, I’m using this interim time between apartments to cull my things and toss out those items that just aren’t necessary for my survival moving forward.  Again, you would think that such a task wouldn’t require too much effort, but perhaps I’m just a sucker for nostalgia?  At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

The cool thing about all of this is the thought of starting over somewhere new, even if it is only just down the block from my current digs.  The notion of starting fresh, purging the unnecessaries, wiping the slate clean is so rejuvenating and inspiring, particularly when you’ve found yourself in a rut [and in my case, I didn’t even know I was in one].

I’m sure I’m already driving Derek completely crazy with all of the decoration ideas that keep springing to mind, but I can’t help but interpret that as a good thing; that I’m truly excited and invested in this new chapter in both of our lives.  The horizon has so many great things in store for the both of us and I’m sure that I’m just supremely anxious to kick start this next chapter and see what’s on the other side….

In the meantime, I find myself in a sea of boxes and sentimental items that I must purge in order to truly relinquish the past and start my future a so fresh and so clean.  Ahhhh, the joys of packing. 

Pray for me.

 

“I easily release that which I no longer need. The past is over and I am free.” — Louise Hay

One comment

Leave a Reply

