5 Days of Gratitude: Day #1

Perusing my Facebook news feed tonight, I stumbled upon a friend’s post, proclaiming that today was “Day 1” of a “5-Day Gratitude Challenge”. He then went off to list the things he is most grateful for today, committing to posting new items as his status update each day over the next 5 days.

How inspiring! So what am I going to do? Well of course I’m going to pirate this idea for myself, obviously.

In all seriousness, I find that in times of difficulty, identifying the elements in your life that you’re most appreciative of can do amazing, uplifting things for the soul. Then again, even if you’re not suffering from a particularly challenging time, connecting with the blessings in your life is an activity that each of us should do with enough frequency that we don’t forget all the riches we benefit from. Embracing an attitude of gratitude brings joy and can heighten our consciousness, making us better friends, partners and stewards of bliss on this earth.

And so, today, I hereby commit to acknowledging the blessings that I’m most appreciative of in my life each day over the next 5 days in the hopes that this will broaden my perspective and serve to remind me of what’s really important in life.

Here it goes….

Today, I find myself most thankful for my body’s physical abilities. Often times we take for granted our health and mobility until we’re suddenly stricken by illness or injury and are limited to what we could once physically accomplish without issue. I am grateful that my body enables me to move with relative ease, allowing me to teach my Flywheel classes this weekend without experiencing any physical pain. Millions of people live each day with chronic pain, which is linked to higher rates of depression, anxiety, stress, self-esteem issues, and substance abuse. I count myself so incredibly fortunate that my body gives me the freedom to move with minimal disruption, allowing me to participate in the things that I love with vigor and grace. In return for my body’s abundance, I must respect her, listen to her, and give her rest and proper nourishment when she needs it. This translates directly to getting enough sleep, seeking massage, and fueling my body with the nutrients that will replenish me. Body, I am thankful for you, girl!

Secondly and earning equal praise, I am thankful for having so many positive, uplifting, wonderful people in my life. This extends to my boyfriend and partner in crime, our mutual friends, my colleagues, fellow instructors and students at Flywheel, my SF and Seattle friends, along with each new person I am fortunate enough to cross paths and connect with each day. I’m grateful that I don’t have any one particular person dragging me down, making me feel less than, or that I’m not good enough. I’m fortunate to be able to surround myself around like-minded, positive, glass-is-MORE-THAN-half-full people who make each day rewarding and inspiring. I try not to take this for granted, for this is certainly not the case for some people who are engulfed by individuals who only bring other people down into their own world of hurt and misery. Not me, my friends. If you’re reading this, know that I’m grateful for YOU!

Okay. Day 1, done. Phew. That felt good. I’m looking forward to identifying tomorrow’s list of blessings and sharing them with you. Life is good and is full of abundance

Leave a Reply

